Car starts but after a few tries

hi,

93 rs 5 speed. The car has an alarm and remote starter installed.

The problem is sometimes when I try to start the car, it won’t start. When trying to start all the accessories go on and turn off when I try to start it, like it normally would, but I hear a click and thats it.
So I thought it was the clutch interlock switch that must be compromised. Initially, I started playing with the clutch while turning the key and this would start it. Today, I tried pushing the clutch all the way to the floor and giggle the key a little bit and it started.

The remote starter does not work any more, from the outside I hear it crank for a milli second but then does not start. I am confused I was thinking that if the problem was the ignition switch, the remote starter would have no trouble staring the car. I was guessing the clutch interlock switch since the remote starter is somehow attached to it.

What am I looking for if its the clutch interlock switch? How would I test the iginition switch? Could it be the wiring of the remote starter?

thanks guys.

If you can hear a “click” inside the car when you try and start it that would be the starter relay, if the “click” is from the engine bay that would be the starter solenoid.
If you can hear either “click” it indicates that both the ign. switch and “Clutch Interlock Switch” are both working, the “CIS” supplies the starter relay with a ground, [to the relays coil] if you take your foot off the clutch you will not hear the starter relay “click”, although just because you can hear the starter relay “click” does not mean its good.

The “CIS” has 2 wires, black, [input from ground] and black/blue, [ground output to starter relay] again if you can hear the starter relay the “CIS” is working.

The starter relays coil gets it power, [12V+] from the ign. switch starter output, [black/white] again if you can hear the starter relay “click” the ign. switch is working, [maybe, more on that later]