Emblem Install - Mounting Tape Tips

Disclaimer: I’m not an expert. This is how I was advised to do it from a friend who is a mechanic.

What you need:

• 3M Scotch Outdoor Mounting Tape
  • Single Hole Punch
  • Razor Blade
  • Cutting Surface with Edge

[LIST=1]

• Clean emblem with warm soapy water to remove any dirt and oils that may prevent the tape from sticking. Let it dry completely.
  • With emblem facing down, touching only the pins on the back of emblem, center a strip of tape a little wider than the length of the emblem, sticky side down. Let the tape touch only the pins! Try to keep the tape straight with minimal slack in between the pins.
  • Remembering which way the tape will go back on, carefully remove the tape off the pins and use the hole punch where the pins indented the tape.
  • Before sticking it back on the emblem, float the tape over it making sure it is centered top to bottom, and both pins will go through the holes.
  • Starting from one side, slowly apply the tape to the emblem. Once it is all on, smooth it down and let it sit for a while (I let it sit for 30 minutes). You want the tape to have a solid bond with the emblem to make the cutting process easier.
  • With the emblem facing up, trace the edges with a sharp razor at an angle where you are cutting a little bit under the emblem. You want to cut with the emblem flush on the cutting surface. To do this, I used the edges of the cutting surface to offset the pins. Go slow and maintain control of the blade so you do not cut into the emblem (or yourself!).
  • [/LIST]

• Awesome! I used 3m emblem glue, and now I wish I had seen this thread before hand. haha.

3M molding tape works as well. Available at any Autozone or Oreillys.

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/accessories/3M-1-2-x-60-in-Molding-Tape/_/N-25ej?itemIdentifier=517034&_requestid=2916451