need an experts opinion

Im new to this, so if I say something completely ignorant please don’t hold it against me. So I’m buying a '90 teg with no motor/trans. My friend bought the car for the transmission and the motor was blown. I’m sure he will let me have access to some of the parts off the motor but I know hes keeping the head for sure… if its still good. So my problem is, I want to find a decent motor/trans to drop into the beast. I’ve been looking around for a couple of days reading what I can online and I stumbled across this board which has been quite a bit of help to me but I still have questions which I don’t have time to search through every thread to find answers for.
So this is what I’m thinking: the B20B seems to be about the cheapest motor that I can find. I’ve found one that comes with a trans but I think it is the stock CRV transmission which I believe are all automatic and because its 4wd of course it won’t bolt up, plus I need a manual. I don’t want a gsr trans because of the short gearing I’d much rather have something a little bit longer like the LS trans (cable preferred because thats what was on the car origionally), plus, its cheaper anyways and will be better for the idea I have on building the b20. I also need to know of any good shops/websites/junkyards in/near Michigan that I can get a trans from) If I am wrong on the trans thing, please correct me…
Now, I haven’t seen anyone saying anything about problems with motor mounts between the stock b18 and the b20 so I’m going to assume that it will bolt in right.
The electronics on the other hand, is where I’m confused. Im pretty sure that the car is OBD-0 and the engine is OBD-1 (I think the years being sold are 94-97 but I’m not positive)