No power in low RPMS!!?

okay, I’ve got a 91 Eclipse GS-T, but this shouldn’t have anything to do with the turbo, so anything covered here should apply to tegs as well.

When I launch, I usually rev to about 3.5k and dump the clutch. the tires spin and then as soon as they get traction, the tach drops to about 2k and the car feels like I downshifted bad, then it’s REALLY slow moving. you know the feeling. Then it takes forever to get my rpms back up
(this might just be because the turbo’s siezed, though. I’m replacing it as soon as it comes. I love ebay)

Does this sound like a problem with my car or me (its very possible. I’ll admit I’m new to racing)?

what kind of clutch are u using? beware of ebay turbos… they might be blown… when u get it, check to see if the fins are loose… if they are… ur screwed… very common… i too have this problem, but only when i push on the throttle lightly… other wise, the car would be very strong… it is because of hte way i tuned the car with my safc… matt

I don’t know what clutch it is. I assumed it was the stock one, but I don’t know for sure. I just bought the car a few weeks ago.

your clutch might be bad… does it feel like ur car might be slipping when u rev it really high?.. or does the car jerk, and take off? that is how u can find out if ur clutch is fried… … replace it and get a aftermarket one

if the clutch is bad, It’d burn up when it slipped, right? I’ve been smelling a lot of something lately, I assumed it was tires, but they really don’t spin that long, so it probably is the clutch. Correct me if my logic is screwed up.

burning rubber smell? yup, ur clutch is gone.