Power steering removal... where to loop

I want to remove my power steering pump ASAP, but want to be sure of where to loop the system to minimize excessive hosing. I’m wondering for those who removed it completely, did you just loop the hoses going to the pump or did you cut them and loop it somewhere closer to the rack. Also how much fluid did you empty / leave inside. TIA

ttt

on the speed sensor I just put a U fitting on it. Everything else I pulled ALL the hoses.

I’ve been running no fluid in my rack for over 2 years (80,000kms) with no problems.

what if you don’t put a loop on where it connects to the speed sensor?

On one side is a checkvalve. the fluid would be pushed out.

Would you guys mind posting some pics? I’ve had my PS belt off for a while, and I’m pretty sure it’s staying off, so I figure I should just get rid of my pump too. But again, pics would be great. Is removing the pump, draining the fluid, and re-routing the hoses difficult?

I plan to remove mine real soon. I have an 1985 Civic CRX and it came stock with no power steering, I love it!! When i do it i will take some digital pics. Does anyone know a great site to post them on??

If you’re going to be going fast (like over 80 or 90 for road racing or something) I’d leave it on. I love the manual steering on my civic but above 80 it’s way too light, one little wrong twitch and you’re toast. If you are really set on it do it right, get a civic rack from an EF or something (maybe you can use the whole front LCA mounts and everything, they just unbolt and house the rack). HTH.

Can someone please post some pics of what hoses to re-route where? I want to remove my PS entirely, both the pump and resevoir. I looked though, and there are quite a few hoses coming into/going out of the pump and resevoir. How much does the pump weigh?

DAMN! I wish i has a digi-cam … I have a speed sensor on my work bench … argh … I’ll see what I can do.