quick question? new deck

i’m planning to purchase a new deck for my car and i was wondering if it’s easy to install. How much time would it take just to replace the deck (i have the stock one right now)? i tried searching but couldn’t find an answer to this question(maybe its so simple???).

thx

There are a few ways of changing your deck.

The way I changed mine was that I purchased a new center (plastic piece that holds the actual deck with a built in pocket thing). Trickiest part is getting the deck out. I believe that there are two 8mm nuts deep behind the deck that holds it in place. Not sure on the sides but i’m sure there aren’t any. You can also purchase a bus converter (instead of doing the hard labour of cutting each wire etc etc).

You can buy these things at futureshop/bestbuy stores…

hth…

thx

i always thought it was sumthing that i could unscrew and pull out… i guess not…

if i have no experience with this, do you think its a good idea that i try doing this myself? or should i pay someone to do this for me?

bestbuy will do it for you for like a extra $40 or 50 or something like that if the deck is i think $100 or more and that is including harness and the plastic surround. and they do good jobs at it generally.

Are you kidding me? Its just a bunch of high school kids that get to put that stuff in. Then they know what is inside your car and how it was installed. Then later you find your car was broken into and your shit stolen. Just do it yourself. I can pull AND install a radio in under 10 minutes (that does not include stripping and clamping wires to the wire harness).

Just go here it will answer all your questions.