Refinishing headlights using SEM21013

First of all, this is not G2-specific… Though depending on how well it stands up, I may do the same thing to the one pieces.

This was performed on my daily driver because they were looking like crap.

My brother bought this stuff from our local paint shop because it caught his eye. We’ve used SEM products before and they tend to perform great. He ended up refinishing his CTR headlights with this product, but his car is literally not driven, so we have not seen how it stands up to daily sun/UV exposure.

http://www.semproducts.com/solaray-uv-clearcoat/

That’s the stuff… SEM Product#: 21013

I forgot to snap a picture of the instructions, but they are picture-based and infer that you:

1. Clean the surface with soapy water
  2. 400 grit wet sand
  3. 1500/2000/3000 grit wet sand
  4. 2min flash-time between coats
  5. 5min dry time
  6. UV heat lamp (or direct sun light, obviously)

I thought that 3000 was a bit too smooth… being a painter I tend to want a slightly rougher surface to ensure that the new material bonds well… it has a nice surface to “hold on to”.

So what I did was 400/800/1200/2000 wet, making sure to get all of the stock UV coating off… its quite obvious once you’re through it and when its all off.

Then clean the housing… mask off whatever you need to mask off… use a wax/grease remover, not an acetone/thinner product as the lens will melt and the surface will not be even enough to spray over.

Admittedly I messed up on the first light. After two coats I put it in the sun for about 4 minutes. Then got it in the shade and did another coat. The UV exposure was enough to not let the third coat melt into the first two coats. This left a slightly textured surface. The closest thing I could relate it to is like a high-quality screen protector for your phone… not 100% opaque, but close.