Too big of an enclosure?

Right now, I’ve got this pretty big enclosure cut for a 8" sub. I think it’s something like 1.8 Cu. with 2" dia x 4" port. Is there such a thing as having too big of an enclosure for a sub? I’ve got a Vega 84 in there now but I’m getting an IDQ 8DV soon. Is it ok to run with such a large enclosure or should I build one that’s to spec of the sub. The Vega I have right now plays pretty loud but it can get kind of muddy/boomy and I’m more into clean and tight. Anyway, I’m a real newbie when it comes to car audio.

its ok to run it like that, sorta. there will be adverse effects though. If the box isn’t to spec, or at least close, then the sound won’t be what it should be. You also risk damaging the sub. With such a small sub, a huge box and having it ported…it seems to me that its almost like a free air setup, which your sub isn’t made for. I’m pretty sure the sub needs some of that pressure from the air in the box so that the excursion isn’t free to bottom out…but i could be wrong about this.