Vibration diagnosis

I can’t diagnose the following symptoms:

• Going from reverse to drive, and after rolling for a few seconds, there is a "pop/clunk" that appears to come from the driver's side wheel.
  • At 70 mi/h, there is a consistent vibration that gets worse only when slightly turning the wheel to the right (as in a lane change). It feels as if the wheel is about to come off, or the lugnuts are loose. The vibration does not exist < 70mi/h, > 75 mi/h
  • Three engine mounts were replaced a month ago (thought this would have solved the issue).
  • Mechanic thinks the shocks are going, which are putting undue stress on the axles. The shocks are 16 year old Koni Yellows. So they are old, but it doesn't seem to match the vibration at a certain speed.
Any thoughts appreciated.

I wouldn’t think shocks and the statement “the shocks are worn so there’s more stress on the axles” doesn’t even make sense to me. I’m no mechanic but I don’t understand how a bad shock could change the stress on the axle. I would investigate axles, wheel bearings, ball joints, bushings and wheel balance.

I replaced the driver’s front wheel with the driver’s rear to try to eliminate the wheel balance variable. No change.

I noticed today that my front driver’s side wheel appears to have negative camber, while my front passenger’s wheel looks like 0 camber. I wonder if something happened with the camber kit. That’ll take some investigating over the weekend.

I notice the boot is broken on the driver’s side axle, but it’s just a little bit pulled away on the axle (by the boot clamp) right on the shaft so no grease is escaping. There’s also no clicking when turning corners.