what do I need to install valve springs?

I might be getting crower 403’s for free. I’ll probably just need to buy the valve springs/retainers and install them.

1. do I need to pull the head off? I don’t think I do, but a few people told me I do.

2. What tools do I need?

3.How long will it take? I am an intermediate level mechanic, with access to a lot of tools.

1. any tricks to it?

2. should I have posted this in the teg help board?

thanks for any help.

:uhoh:

1. If you don’t take off the head, what will happen to your valves once the keepers/retainers/springs are gone? Gravity is just one of those things you can’t get away from. :smiley: Yes, you’ll need to take off the head.

2. Tools: Good metric socket set (10mm thru prolly 17mm at least, ideal would be 8-19), breaker bar (you’ll need a big one for those head studs, they’re torqued down pretty nicely), extensions for said breaker, ratchet, umm…pretty much a full socket/breaker/ratchet set with extensions, and you’ll NEED (not an option) a torque wrench for puttin it back together. You’ll also NEED new head and valve cover gaskets. DO NOT re-use the old ones. Don’t forget a valve spring compressor, most auto parts stores carry them if you don’t have one, mine was like 15 bucks. Not too bad. The most important tool you MUST HAVE for this project and can’t do it without, however, is the Helms Manual. Yay. Timing gun/light is also a plus (you have to take off the timing belt, be sure and not get any oil on it cause oil with belts is a bad combo).

3. Eh, it’s a good Saturday project if you start early enough. Make sure you get the helms section about the cylinder head and you’ll be golden. If you take your time, Saturday/Sunday will be plenty of time but it can be done in 5-6 hours if you’re mechanically inclined.

4. Tricks…umm…don’t drink too many beers till after you’re done. :smiley: