Pro's and Con's of LS/V and GSR Motor's

So I have looked around on here and some other sights and can’t really gather any useful information. I am about to embark on an engine build but I can’t figure out which way I want to go with it. It starts with a 93 GS with a B18A motor with I/H/E. I had a 98 GSR head with 30k miles on it dropped in my lap for a price to good to pass up for the condition and everything included with it. Now, here is my dilemma. Should I just do a mild LS/Vtec by just putting on the GSR head with a Golden Eagle LS/VTEC kit and ARP hardware and maybe upgrade the cams and cam gears or should I buy a GSR block to mate with my GSR head and make it a straight GSR swap? I am a college student so of course I am on a budget and I am not looking to dump 5 grand into a build. I am looking to spend $1500-$2000 and I am hoping for right around 180-200 whp. What are the benefits of doing a LS/VTEC over a GSR build, and vice versa. Are there any con’s to doing either of these builds? What is going to be the best bang for my buck? If anyone can direct me to another thread with this info, that would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

well, i prefer lsvtec to gsr, just my take. the lsvtec puts out pretty good power. the question is, are you planning on boosting or staying na? the advantage of doing a lsvtec is you allready have the ls bottom. since you allready have the head, you should be able to do the mild build (arp bolts, new engine kit, lsvtec kit) for under $1000 if your staying na then pick up some gsr pistons to put in it and you’ll be at the power you want.