Trying to make up my mind...

So, I am going to attempt to make this short and sweet. This is a general opinion question, and I would love for people to post opinions with their reasons for their opinions.

I have intentions of building a 1993 ls. I received the car from a friend a while back, and now am looking at motor upgrades. I have researched about the ls/v, and I love it! I was looking into a b16 head.
The new thought, and the reason for this thread is, I began thinking of a turbo. I have no intentions of going big right now. I know i need to build the bottom end, but i have a friend that said he could sell me a complete turbo for the car for 700. The turbo is a turbonetics (not sure about the model number). This route, i think i could build the bottom end to make those revs high. Big question with the turbo is the ecu, I had intentions of using a chipped p28 for the ls/v.

ANY opinions and guidance is much appreciated. I am a noob, so don’t be to hard on me guys.

im on the same boat lol but on a non vtec b20

I would do small boost on that, I have read the piston walls are smaller and don’t like a lot of boost, not sure though. I am a noob :stuck_out_tongue:

When you say “complete turbo”, what do you mean? I say save up and do it right the first time. A chipped ECU would be the best solution. Something like a Hondata S300 would be great for you if did ls/V first then decided to go turbo. From my experience, total cost is 50 percent more than your original budget.

i dont think so, but if u sleeve it turn it up to psi. motor will love u for it lol imma noob too

I wouldnt build anything. I would get the 60 trim kit from go auto works that is specific for the DA chassis. This kit will give you room to grow if you do build the bottom end.

http://www.go-autoworks-store.com/gostkit.html

The B20 walls are not thinner… they’re actually thicker than a LS/GSR/ITR… it’s the design of them that makes them weak under high cylinder pressures.