turbo spark plugs ?

ok my car was cuting out unless i had it to the floor .it would cut out around 3 or 4 thousand rpms if i didnt have it floored .so i took it in .and they said it was the spark plugs. proably cause i was boosting so they said. they just put better spark plugs in it .so it ran just fine .but then today i was out running it kinda hard and it started again .why is this so ?what is happing to my poor spark plugs .?

sorry this look like crap but im in a hurry

Uhhh… your spark plugs?

I’m still learning about turbos but…
sounds to me like maybe your boost is too high/or your injectors aren’t spitting out enough fuel???

Because before 3 or 4 I would think the turbo wouldn’t be engaged,
So after that if there was too much air and not enough fuel
that would bog it down…
Maybe a mis-diagnosis by the shop?
Are they familair with turbo?
How long have you had it “turboed” for?

As far as spark plugs for your application, my opinion would be to get : NGK BCPR7ES (gapped at 28). Double check your gapping and make sure your plug wires are in good shape.

As for cutting out: it may be just your fuel filter needing replacement. HTH

it ran fine after the new plugs were put in for like 3 or 4 days i have ngk in there now i just dont know i have been boosting 4 maybe like 4months only (6psi) i just dont know whats going on i guess ill take it to the shop again monday.:frowning:

Did you get colder spark plugs? When you go turbo it is necessary to get spark plugs that are one step colder than stock. If you are boosting a lot, you may even go two or three steps colder. What boost are you running, and what is your fuel set-up? We can’t help you if we don’t know what your set-up looks like.

im running 6 pounds a boost on a stock b16

U need 1 stage colder plugs or say goodbye engine!!!:down:

Yep, get those colder plugs in there. With 6 psi, you shouldn’t need to go anymore than only one step colder.